Milestone @ NWU!

boloka4
We are proud to announce that Boloka (the Open Access Institutional Repository of the NWU) is growing rapidly and this month we have reached a milestone with more than 20 000 items indexed. Thank you to everyone who contributed to Boloka’s success over the years and for making NWU scholarly output visible and searchable to the whole wide world through Open Access.

boloka-table

During the January 2017 “Ranking Web of Repositories”, Boloka was ranked 7th in Africa and 364th in the world.

Maximum exposure increases the impact and enhances the discovery of your research

  • Create an ORCiD, distinguish yourself and your work (NRF prescription)
  • Consider publishing in accredited journals  (Start here)
  • Publish your final accepted version as early as possible – post print (i.e. final draft post refereeing) Send these versions to your Faculty Librarians to be included in Boloka
    (NRF prescription)
  • Retain your self-archiving rights or
  • Check publishers’ policies on copyright and self-archiving
  • Share: Inform colleagues and engage in social networking communities
  • Create an online profile (Google Scholar Citations)  (see: NWU on GSC)
  • Remember to keep your datasets or post to platforms for storage

…early deposits of full text on Boloka enhance early discovery through Google…  

boloka-total-visits

Communities in (Boloka) NWU-IR
Africana Collection [350]
Conference Papers [345]
Theses and Dissertations [8580]
Inaugural Lectures [292]
Research Output [7546]

Advertisements

Workshop on the use of EasyData

Mafikeng Campus Library invites all its users to a Workshop on the use of EasyData by Quantec Database.

Date: 17 May 2016
Venue: Library Training Room, Mafikeng Campus
Time: 10:00 – 12:00
Presenter: Marna Kearney (from EasyData)

For bookings and additional information email: sabelo.chizwina@nwu.ac.za

What is the EasyData database?
A comprehensive collection of South African macroeconomic, industry, trade and regional indicators.

Services provided by the EasyData database
Macroeconomic Service – A wide-ranging collection of South African and Global macroeconomic data and analysis.
Industry Service – A unique and consistent analytical view of South Africa’s economic structure by industry.
International Trade Service – Data and analysis on South Africa’s international trade.
Regional Service – Detailed regional economic data and analysis for the South African economy down to district, town council and lower sub-national levels.

easydata

Ranking Web of Repositories

boloka

Boloka (the NWU Institutional Repository) takes the 7th position on the African continent in the latest Ranking Web of Repositories.

Results of the latest ranking saw Boloka move up from the 10th position in July 2015 to the 7th position in the African Continent in January 2016.  Since launching Boloka in 2009 it was ranked in December 2010 as 826th in the world and today the position stands at 342.

The consistent rise in ranking is attributed to big efforts to populate the repository, thus increasing the availability of academic papers and supporting the Open Access initiative with direct access to NWU scientific publications and other academic material.

boloka-position

Emerald Supports NWU Mafikeng Library

In December 2015, Emerald donated jackets for the staff at NWU Mafikeng Campus. The Library would like to thank Mr Sibu Zondi for this generous donation that will go a long way in increasing the visibility of the Emerald resources on the campus.

The NWU is currently subscribed to the Emerald Management 175 package. This collection offer access to an expanding portfolio of over 170 prestigious peer-reviewed journals in a broad range of subject areas. They are considered essential content by 98 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools.

Since the NWU’s initial subscription in 2004, Emerald has formed an integral part of the core eResource collection.

emerald